James O. Page Legacy Scholarship, endowed by Hartwell Medical

Fitch EMS Foundation

James O. Page Legacy Scholarship, Endowed by Hartwell Medical

The James O. Page Legacy Scholarship, endowed by Hartwell Medical, will be open to any aspiring EMS leader who is interested in mentorship. It is named for the late Jim Page, considered to be the father of modern EMS.


The scholarship will honor the legacy of Jim Page by offering the recipient a structured six-part mentorship, facilitated by Dr. Jay Fitch. A first step in the mentorship will be to attend the 2024 Pinnacle EMS Leadership Forum, with registration and all expenses paid by the scholarship. Pinnacle will be held Aug. 12-16, 2024, in Marco Island, Florida.

Application Deadlines & Award Dates

The online 2024 scholarship application process will open on Feb. 1 and will close March 15, 2024. The Foundation’s scholarship committee will select winners and they will be announced at the Pinnacle Leadership Conference. The award recipients and all other applicants will receive an email notifying them of the decision. For any questions or concerns, please email the scholarship committee at [email protected]


Sponsorship Opportunities 

The Foundation is endowed by the EMS consulting firm Fitch & Associates, other major organizations, and individuals that believe that the future of our profession requires the aggressive development of its future leaders. If you are interested in providing a named scholarship or other financial support, please contact Jay Fitch at [email protected]

About James O. Page, JD

Jim Page is considered one of the founding fathers of modern-day emergency medical services.  He devoted his entire life to serving others and was truly the “conscience” of EMS nationwide – never hesitating to call out mediocrity when he saw it, setting an example of service for all of us to follow.  Jim’s legacy of excellence in patient care and public service carries on after his death, through the hundreds of books, articles, magazines, and videos that he produced and, most importantly, through the literally thousands of lives that he touched and mentored into the EMS leaders of today. 


Jim began his fire service career in the Los Angeles County Fire Department in 1957. He served in numerous locations and roles while working his way through the ranks and completing undergraduate education and law school at night. He became a licensed California attorney in 1971.


In 1971, Jim was assigned by his department to coordinate the countywide implementation of paramedic rescue services. At the same time, he served as technical consultant and writer for the “Emergency!” television series. In 1973, he resigned from the fire department to accept the new position of Chief of EMS for the State of North Carolina.


In 1980 he founded JEMS, the Journal of Emergency Medical Service, with founding editor Keith Griffiths. In addition to JEMS, the leading source of information in the field, their company grew to include additional magazines, conferences, books and consulting services. 


Over the years, Jim Page wrote six books, more than 400 magazine articles and editorials, and gave more than 800 public speeches. He established and funded an EMS educational foundation at Palomar College near San Diego. In 1995 he was honored by the International Association of Fire Chiefs when they created the annual “James O. Page Award of Excellence.” In 2000, he was featured by Fire Chief Magazine as one of the 20 most influential fire chiefs of the 20th Century.


That same year he founded the law firm Page, Wolfberg and Wirth (PWW), the only firm focused on EMS. Jim died Sept 4, 2006 of sudden cardiac arrest while swimming at an athletic club. His memory lives on in the James O. Page Legacy Scholarship.

Fitch EMS Foundation

Benefits for Award Recipients

Being a Fitch Foundation Award Recipient opens the door to a community of high-performing peers and mentors and leadership development. The Fitch Foundation offers events, lifelong leadership development, volunteer, and professional opportunities, and more to its award winners.